- published: 09 Dec 2014
- views: 2927
More info at http://www.shouselaw.com/stolen-property.htmlIn this video, we explain the law of receiving stolen property per Penal Code 496 PC. Receiving stolen property is when you take possession of property that you know or reasonably should know is stolen. Penal Code is a misdemeanor if the value of the property is $950 or less; otherwise it can be filed as a felony. Misdemeanor penalties are up to a year in county jail; felony penalties are up to 3 years in jail or prison. A good criminal defense lawyer can often help to get receiving stolen property charges reduced or dismissed.
In this episode, Assistant City Prosecutor Bill Hedrick takes a look at those felons with outstanding warrants for receiving stolen property. Receiving stolen property is often filed when individuals sell items to pawn shops that had been previously reported as stolen. Not surprisingly, individuals charged with receiving stolen property usually have active theft records as well.
More info at http://www.shouselaw.com/stolen-property.html 888.327.4652 California 'receiving stolen property' laws - Penal Code 496 pc - criminal defense lawyers explain In California, receiving stolen property is prohibited under Penal Code 496 PC. This section makes it a crime to *buy, *sell, *receive, *conceal, or *withhold property which you know to be stolen. Although the person who actually steals the property could technically be charged with PC 496, he/she would more typically be charged with a theft offense instead. A California "receiving stolen property" charge targets those who knowingly perform any of the above acts after the theft occurs. This means that if you knowingly receive the stolen property from the thief (or from someone who had...
Receiving Stolen Property PC 496 can be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor depending on the surrounding circumstances. Attorney Matt Wallin explains why it is important that an attorney intervene on your behalf in a case. Common Defenses: http://www.wklaw.com/receiving-stolen-property-defenses.html California Penal Code 496 Taking possession of items you know are stolen is a crime in California. To find you are guilty the prosecution must prove 3 things: 1) You (bought/received/sold/aided in selling/concealed or withheld from its owner/aided in concealing or withholding from its owner) property that has been stolen or obtained by extortion AND 2) When you (bought/received/sold/aided in selling/concealed or withheld from its owner/aided in concealing or withholding from its owner)...
On February 16, 2012 a Brunswick, Ohio man appeared in Judge James Kimbler's courtroom in Medina, Ohio and entered a change of plea to one count of receiving stolen property. Watch Medina County Court News Reporter Kate Feeks' story.
What if another person was the one who stole the property but you received it and are now in possession, can you be charged with a criminal offense in San Diego? Yes, a person who receives property known to be stolen and who now has possession or control over the stolen property will be charged under California Penal Code section 496. Knowing the property to be stolen to buy, sell, receive, conceal, or withhold property that has been obtained in a manner constituting theft or extortion is a serious crime. In order to convict someone of receiving stolen property under PC 496, the prosecutor must prove each of the following elements: 1) The defendant bought, received, sold, aided in selling, concealed or withheld from the owner, or aided in concealing or withholding from the owner property...
Picture walk through for this simple investigation.
A massive crackdown on scrap yards resulted in six companies being exposed for corrupt activity. Authorities tell NBC4 many of them were buying prohibited or stolen property from sellers. Full story: http://bit.ly/2qjreHv